Roasted Red Pepper Pesto

Yesterday was my first attempt at making pesto, and it did not go quite according to plan. I used a hand held blender, which due to some logistical mismanagement, my finger decided to experience, just as the pesto was ready. The look on my housemate’s face as I explained that she  probably shouldn’t try the red pesto in the fridge, as I was not entirely clear on how much of the red colouring actually came from the peppers, was priceless. So yes, my blood and some tears, went into this recipe, so thank god it is actually pretty good.

Ingredients

  • 200g roasted red peppers (home-made or jar)
  • 50g parmesan cheese
  • 40g pine nuts
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed

Method

  • Blend all the ingredients using a hand held blender or pestle and mortar until you have a rough consistency.
Leave a Reply

