Spicy Carrot and Feta Dip

Carrot and Feta Dip

This is a rough interpretation of a half remembered dip which my dad used to make for us when I was a child, as part of a mezze. As is a frequent occurrence at such meals, once my dad acknowledged that this dish was popular with the whole family, he inexplicably stopped making it. It is tastier than the photo might suggest.I remembered this while attempting to make Anthony Worrell Thompson’s carrot croquettes. I do not know which god he is praying to in order to keep pureed carrot in a distinguishable shape long enough to fry, but clearly it is a different one to me as this was a messy, and not entirely successful endeavour, resulting in me converting the remains of my pureed carrot into this dip. I tend to add feta to a lot of things, because it is an easy way to add a strong salty flavour to counter more sweet flavours. Also, it is available quite cheaply at my local middle eastern grocers, where every trip is a fascinating mess of confusion and frustration, as I do not speak Dutch or Turkish, and they do not speak English, and the elderly owner perpetually attempts to slip things I did not ask for into my bag and then charge me for them.  Serve this dip with toasted pita bread.

Ingredients

  • 500g carrots, peeled, trimmed and chopped into rounds.
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon wine (red or white) or sherry vinegar
  • 75g feta, crumbled
  • Juice of ½ of a lemon
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chopped chives
  • 2 teaspoons ground roasted cumin
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne (or more if you are hardcore)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped  fresh parsley (optional)

Optional

  • 1 tub greek/Turkish yoghurt
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint leaves

Method

  • Boil/steam the carrots until soft (approximately 8-10 minutes). It you are blessed with an oven, roasting is a better option.
  • Puree with the oil, vinegar and lemon juice. Add the dill, chives and spices. Mix in the onion and feta.
  • Season
  • To make the yoghurt sauce, combine the ingredients, and swirl into the dip. Top with the parsley.
Leave a Reply

