Camembert and Caramelized Onion Quesadillas

This one was an epic fall off the healthy eating wagon I have been on recently, but it was worth it. I do not like drinking milk, despite being forced to do so daily as a child, and basically the only dairy product I have enthusiasm for consuming in a non-sauce based form is cheese. A genetic tendency towards osteoporosis has led me to wave off my cheese addiction with the belief that I will thank myself when I am 80 and can fall over without fracturing every bone in my body. Of course, by this stage my limbs will presumably long have given up supporting my weight, and the likelihood of my falling over will rest entirely on the ability of the crane operator who moves me around. Anyway, this is very easy to make, and given that both camembert and a net of red onions cost less than one euro each, and tortillas less than two, this is practically budget food. This is a light dinner for two if served with a green salad.

Ingredients:

  • 200g Camembert, chopped or thinly sliced
  • 3-4 red onions, peeled and chopped into 1-2cm pieces
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon wine vinegar
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of sugar
  • Olive oil
  • 8 medium  flour tortillas

Method

  • To caramelize the onions, sauté gently in olive oil in a large saucepan until soft, about 5-6 minutes.
  • Add the vinegars and sugar, and cook gently for an additional 10 minutes until they are combined and the vinegar is reduced to a syrup consistency.
  • Assemble the four quesadillas by dividing the cheese and onions equally between four tortillas and topping with the additional four tortillas.
  • Fry one by one dry in a non-stick pan or a regular pan with a small amount of oil over low verging on medium heat for approximately one minute each side. Be careful, turn them over after 30 seconds as tortillas burn quickly.
  • Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

