Stem Ginger Biscotti

These are an adaptation of Yottam Ottolenghi’s pistachio and ginger biscotti. This is not out of any misguided belief that I can improve on a recipe devised by the man who made me see the point of cheesecake, but rather due to some unfortunate shopping missteps.

  1.  All my local shops being out of non-salted pistachios when I decided to make these.
  2. My youthful vigour being such that despite having reached the age of 26, I am still frequently asked for proof of age when buying alcohol. This is unfortunate as I am now of such advanced years that I have no time for remembering such trivialities. Never mind the fact that I was buying brandy, and not bacardi breezers and vodka (though I do live in an area where the local supermarket stocks Poilane bread and children named Fausto can survive the educational system with their limbs intact, so perhaps underage brandy drinkers are an epidemic).

So, in lieu of the brandy and pistachios called for in the original recipe, I upped the stem ginger content, and added some stem ginger syrup, and they turned out beautifully. I am told these are a nice addition to a cup of tea or coffee (I drink neither). They’re also a nice homemade gift as they last quite well once in a sealed container. This makes about 25 biscuits.
Ingredients

  • 80g Unsalted butter
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • zest of 1 1/2 oranges
  • 150g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • a pinch of salt
  • 80g stem ginger roughly chopped plus 1 tablespoon of syrup

Method

    1. Line a baking tray with parchment
    2. Cream the butter and sugar until light in colour andtexture.
    3. Gradually add eggs, beating well after each.
    4. Stir in the zest, flour, ginger and salt.
    5. Add the stem ginger and syrup.
    6. Leave mix in fridge flattened a bit onto the baking tray for 30 mins to firm.
    7. Roll the dough into a log shape, and then flatten slightly.
    8. Bake for 20 mins at 180°.
    9. Remove from the oven and allow to cool (it will have started to colour a little bit at the edges, but still be soft).
    10. Lower the oven to 140° or so (use your judgement, all ovens vary, mine is a disaster so I cannot be too precise).
    11. Cut the log into 1cm or so thick slices,  and bake for 40 mins until crisp.
Leave a Reply

