Sweetcorn, Date and Feta Fritters

 

This is an adaptation of an adaptation of the Modern Pantry fritters which formed the only successful part of my dinner there (I’ve since had a great brunch though). It is my adaptation of Domini Kemp’s adaptation of the Modern Pantry Cookbook’s recipe (too many cooks do what now?). It didn’t actually much turn out like the ones I had, but these were still incredibly tasty, just in a different way.
Weirdly, I really do not like tinned sweetcorn, it freaks me out a little. The smell actually makes me gag. I’m not entirely sure why I fear sweetcorn, as I actually don’t really mind eating it if I have to but for some reason my brain keeps tricking me into thinking I hate it. Odd. So if you also find sweetcorn unappealing (and a lot of people seem to), please don’t let that put you off. Although this recipe originally calls for deep-frying, I usually use the approach of just a small amount of oil in a non-stick pan, enough to grease it, and then cook more like a pancake. It is just slightly healthier, but does give a less crispy texture. I think this approach would make these a nice brunch dish.
When I had these at Modern Pantry, they were served with a rose-water yoghurt sauce that was fantastic. Not having rose-water to hand, I instead made a sauce with honey and paprika that was also excellent, but next time I would invest in some rose-water for a change.

This makes about 28-30 fritters

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp cumin seeds, roasted and ground
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • A pinch of cayenne or chilli flake
  • 2 red onions or shallots, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 170-200g feta, crumbled
  • 200g stoned dates, finely chopped
  • 300g frozen (defrosted) or tinned sweetcorn
  • 1 bunch of spring onions, finely chopped
  • 170g  plain flour
  • 75g polenta
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • 100ml yoghurt
  • 2 eggs
  • Oil for frying (not olive)

For the sauce

  • 150ml yoghurt
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika

Method

  • Heat the olive oil in a frying pan or large saucepan. Fry the turmeric, mustard seeds, cumin, cayenne and curry powder for about 1.5 minutes until you can get a strong (but not burnt) smell.
  • Add the shallots/red onions and cook for 3-4 minutes.
  • Add the sugar and caramelise for a further 2ish minutes.
  • Take off the heat and put in a large bowl.
  • Add the feta, dates, spring onion and corn kernels to the caramelised onion mix.
  • Add in the remaining ingredients, except the frying oil.
  • Heat the frying oil in a large frying pan, and fry tablespoon amounts (it’s easier to flatten them with a spatula than maintain shape) for 2-3 minutes on each side, until golden brown and crispy.
  • Drain on kitchen paper.
  • Serve with yoghurt.

Leave a Reply

