Rum and Raisin Syrup Ice Cream

february 054_phixr

This is a combination of the recipe for Zetter Townhouse rum and raisin syrup for a hot toddy and Rick Stein’s Pedro Ximenez and raisin ice cream. I made the syrup during the London snow a few weeks ago, after trying it at the Zetter, smug in the knowledge that I was prepared for alcoholic hibernation when the next snow arrived. Much like my purchase of snow boots before it, making the syrup was a harbinger of spring, and last week it was 17 degrees in London. In February! So onto plan B, home made ice-cream. I have to say, I’m not the biggest ice-cream fan. When I was a child, my brother and I would stay with our grandparents one week a year, and they would massively indulge us with a massive amount of ice-cream (5 bowls a day was standard) with every single flavour and topping combination imaginable tried and tested. Fantastic though this was, by my teens, ice cream no longer held the same allure. My boyfriend on the otherhand is a big ice-cream fan, even in unseasonable weather (no such thing as ‘not ice cream weather’ in Denmark apparently) so this formed part of a Valentine’s lunch for him. I was a little bit nervous of this, not having an ice-cream maker, but it was pretty easy and turned out beautifully smooth. The syrup can also be used as a sauce for ice-cream, if you’re not bothered with home made ice cream. The Zetter recipe called for Mayer’s rum but I just went with generic for the syrup (though I wouldn’t use that for making an actual toddy).

Ingredients

Syrup (makes about 750ml including the raisins, about 300ml straight syrup)

  • 500g raisins
  • 65ml dark rum
  • 140ml sugar syrup (half water and half sugar in a jar shaken vigorously until combined).

 

Ice cream

  • 200ml whole milk
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 250ml double cream
  •  a few drops of vanilla essence (original used vanilla pods, I balked at paying £6 for 2)
  • 3 large free range egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons rum and raisin syrup (including the raisins) plus 1 tablespoon to serve

Method

  • To make the syrup, combine the ingredients in a large sealable container (I used glass jars)and leave to steep for a week.
  • For the ice cream, start the day before you want to serve.
  • Boil the milk and vanilla essence, and leave for 30 minutes to infuse
  • Use an electric mixer to combine the eggs and sugar until pale and thick.
  • Boil the milk and pour over the egg mixture, mixing well.
  • Slowly cook on a low heat in a pan for 3-4 minutes until thickened to a thin custard texture.
  • Remove from the heat and cool.
  • Stir in the cream and chill overnight in the fridge.
  • Store in the freezer for 1.5 hours until nearly solid.
  • Beat with a hand held mixer and re-freeze.
  • Rick Stein says to do this 3-4 times, i only did it twice and it was fine.
  • Take out and beat again, add the syrup and raisins and freeze for about 2 hours until solid.
  • Serve with some more syrup and raisins poured on top.

4 thoughts on “Rum and Raisin Syrup Ice Cream

  1. I am not the biggest ice cream fan either (which I always finds puzzles people, like they can’t quite believe it or something). However, when I do have it, rum raisin is one of my favorite flavors. I do love that you made this without an ice-cream maker! Was the ice cream still pretty smooth?

  2. Thanks for posting a non-icecream maker recipe! By a weird coincidence I have been looking to make exactly this flavour for the past few days and it appears to be gluten free too. Unfortunately, as my blender has finally kicked the bucket, I will have to give my bingo wings a workout and whisk it by hand.

Leave a Reply

