Wasabi and White Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Icing

This is an unusual recipe, and one which caught my eye from an unlikely source. I have never been a huge fan of celebrity cookbooks, nor have I ever read a chicklit book, so when I was given Marian Keyes baking book as a gift I was more than a little bit surprised. However, on leafing through it I found a selection of unusual recipes with great, very clear instructions and I’ve had to revisit my celebrity cookbook bias. This recipe I just had to try, because if someone is willing to put a wasabi cupcake recipe in a book, they are either mad or a genius and I wanted to find out which. The answer seems to be genius. The crumb was rich, dense and a little bit moist, and the flavour pretty unusual. It is a really nice twist on the now fairly pedestrian chilli/chocolate combination. I am a fan of anything salted caramel flavoured so I gave the icing a whirl, but to be honest these are also perfectly presentable and tasty without if it sounds like too much effort.

Makes 12

Ingredients

  • 100g white chocolate
  • 100g unsalted butter
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 75g self-raising flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoons wasabi paste
  • salt

For the icing

  • 100g butter
  • 75 brown sugar
  • 75g golden syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

Method

  • Melt the white chocolate over a bain marie.
  • Stir in the butter until melted and well combined.
  • Remove from the heat and stir in the sugar.
  • Marian says its ok if it looks congealed, mine more just didn’t mix in together properly, but both these things are fine.
  • Leave for 10 minutes to cool.
  • Add the vanilla extract and use an electric mixer to mix for 3 minutes (or until everything comes together nice and blended).
  • Add the eggs one by one, mixing each in well.
  • Add the flour, baking powder and a pinch of salt and stir well.
  • Stir in the wasabi.
  • Pour into 12 cupcake papers in a cupcake tray and bake at 180C for 20ish minutes (keep an eye after about 13, when they are risen properly and slightly coloured on top, and a skewer comes out clean, they are done).
  • Leave to cool and make the icing.
  • Melt all the icing ingredients together except the salt.
  • Raise the heat until it bubbles, but doesn’t boil, and whisk vigorously until it is thickened (mine took about 6 minutes).
  • Leave to cool slightly, for about 2 minutes, then use to ice the cupcakes.

10 thoughts on “Wasabi and White Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Icing

  1. I hate wasabi, though. Would I like this cupcakes or are they very wasabi-heavy?

    I think Marian Keyes would be tickled by you calling her “mad or a genius”:) She’s on twitter as @MarianKeyes, and her last blog post about meeting Aung San Suu Kyi made me cry a bit. http://www.mariankeyes.com/Newsletter/June-2012-2?forumboardid=17&forumtopicid=17
    e.g.:

    “It was Himself who actually answered the call and he comes back into the room, where I’m huddled fearfully and I said, “Who was it? What did they want?” And he says, “Would you like to meet Aung San Suu KyI?”

    I took a good long look at him and thought, ‘Well, that’s lovely, that is, now the both of us are mad and he’d always seemed so sane, but there we go.’ Slowly and loudly I said, “You can have some of my anti-mad tablets. At least for tonight. But we’ll have to get you to a quack in the morning.” “

    • They do taste of wasabi, but are not very hot. It appears I missed the raison d’etre of the book when I skipped the forward and went straight to the recipes, so didn’t actually realise about the anti-mad tablets etc.

Leave a Reply

