Hake with Hazelnuts and Capers

nov4 005_phixr
As befits early January, this recipe from Epicurious is both quick and healthy. I am still slowly developing a taste for fish after years of fear and loathing, and hake is my favourite so far. As a child, my mother always warned me that one day as a grown-up, I would be in a social situation where it would be impolite not to eat fish, so I should try to get used to it. This has yet to turn out to be the case, but a gradual process of peer-pressure from my significant other combined with curiosity has led me down this path. I suspect my dislike of salmon will be eternal, despite this being one of the few fish Irish people seem to actually eat, but I am slowly getting to grips with white fish. This recipe would work with other firm white fish like cod or halibut just as easily. Serves 4.

Ingredients

  • 4 pieces hake fillet
  • 60g hazelnuts
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons drained tinned or fresh capers
  • 1 small bunch chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

Method

  • Finely chop the hazelnuts.
  • Dry the hake pieces with kitchen paper and season with salt and pepper.
  • Heat the oil in a large frying pan over medium-high heat.
  • Saute the fish, turn it once halfway through, until it is golden and cooked through approx
  • Transfer to a warmed plate and cover with tinfoil to keep warm.
  • Melt the butter in the same frying pan, and add the hazelnuts.
  • After 1 minute add the garlic to the hazelnuts and continue to toast until the hazelnuts are golden brown.
  • Add the vinegar and water to deglaze the pan.
  • Remove from the heat and add the capers and parsley.
  • Season, and serve spooned over the hake.
6 thoughts on “Hake with Hazelnuts and Capers

  1. I use capers with fish a lot…I can’t wait to adding hazelnuts the next time I cook fish. I used to not like salmon at all as it is a strong tasting fish. Over a period of time of eating it with different sauces, I have learned to like it and now cook it often. I think we have to actually learn to like some foods…it is just a matter of if we want to or not and there are somethings I’d just rather not eat.

Leave a Reply

