Orange Blossom Madeleines

Orange Blossom Madeleines

The last two months have been a process of slowly getting adapting to my new house. I’m back to using a gas stove and have spent the last month burning half of the food I’ve made. It’s been a humbling experience.The smell of burnt caramel will haunt my dreams.

I’ve also been spending some time getting to know my new surroundings, the infamous Dublin north inner city. Last weekend, I took advantage of this to visit the Dublin Flea Market, previously filed away under ‘too far to bother with’. Apparently everyone else in the city had the same idea, and the place was so crammed I barely saw a stall. At one point, a young couple in the crowd leaned against me and started to passionately kiss while using my body for support. I was not impressed. The upside to the market was picking up some cheap vintage plates as I made my escape from the exhibitionist young lovers.

Afterwards, I strolled over to a nearby Middle Eastern deli and picked up some orange blossom water, and returned to face my oven. I’ve made madeleines on many occasions in the past. They are relatively quick and easy to make, and very pretty if you have the proper madeleine tin. They are best eaten the day they are made, although no-one complained when I passed them around the next day.

Makes about 30 mini madeleines (from Nigella Lawson)

Ingredients

  • 50g butter
  • 1 egg
  • pinch of salt
  • 45g sugar
  • 40g flour
  • 1 tablespoon orange blossom water
  • Icing sugar for dusting

Method

  • Melt the butter over a low heat.
  • Beat the egg, sugar and salt together using an electric mixer until thick like mayonnaise (apologies for the madeleine/mayonnaise image).
  • It should take about five minutes.
  • Sieve in the flour.
  • Stir in almost all the butter and the orange blossom water, saving a little bit of butter to grease the tins.
  • Leave to rest in the fridge for at least an hour.
  • Preheat the oven to 220C.
  • Spoon a teaspoon into each greased madeleine mold (it will spread to so don’t worry about filling it completely)
  • Cook for 3-5 minutes (check after three) until puffy and lightly golden.
  • Remove from the tray, leave to cool and sprinkle with icing sugar.
8 thoughts on “Orange Blossom Madeleines

  1. I’ve never tried making madeleines but yours sounds lovely with the flavor and scent of orange. Hopefully during the next month you and your stove learn to become friends. 🙂

  2. What gorgeous madeleines! It’s been so long since I have made some and it’s been one of my goals to cook more with flower waters (orange blossom, rose) this year that this recipe sounds perfect. Thanks for the great post! And I can’t believe that couple didn’t even realize that they were leaning against another person!

Leave a Reply

