Roasted Carrot Salad with Bulgar, Feta and Peas

Carrot salad

 

I made this salad a few weeks back during one of my thrice monthly health kicks. These usually last a few days, in which I largely eat plants, go to the gym, take the stairs in work, then remember fried things are delicious and the whole cycle begins again. It was meant to contain all sorts of things other than carrots and peas but I was thwarted by my vanity. I went to the gym, had a long, bitter and thankless workout, and was smugly strolling into the changing room when I was confronted with a host of confused semi clothed women clutching towels around themselves. It quickly became clear that all the water to the building had been cut off, and I was destined to walk home looking and smelling as appealing as a secondary school changing room. I scurried through the backstreets of inner city Dublin like a fugitive, darting through alleyways that probably weren’t the safest to try and avoid human contact. Clearly, going to the supermarket was out of the question, and so I ventured home to raid my fridge, freezer and cupboards to salvage dinner. And this was what I found. The carrots were lingering at the bottom of the vegetable drawer, a little disturbingly since I’d bought them over a month ago. Mint is the only herb that doesn’t die in my dark and damp kitchen, and I had a hoard of bulgar wheat in the cupboard. Thank god for my borderline survivalist stash of dried goods. This salad keeps well for packed lunches, and is quite cheap to make once you have a good store cupboard. 

Makes about 4 side servings

Ingredients

For the roasted carrots

  • 6 carrots, peeled and sliced into batons
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2-3 teaspoons honey
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • salt and pepper

For the salad

  • 150g frozen petit pois
  • 150g bulgar wheat (unsoaked weight)
  • 75g feta, crumbled
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1-2 teaspoons honey
  • a few shakes of togarashi or chilli flakes (optional)

Method

  • Mix the carrot batons with the remaining ingredients and roast at 200C for 25 minutes or until soft and a little browned around the edges.
  • Meanwhile, boil the petit pois as per pack instructions.
  • Soak the bulgar wheat in hot water until soft (approximately 20 minutes, but keep tasting)
  • Make the dressing by whisking the oil, juice, garlic, allspice and honey together.
  • Once the bulgar is properly soaked, dress and season with salt, pepper and togarashi/chilli flakes.
  • Mix in the peas, carrots, feta and chopped mint.
  • Serve at room temperature.

Facebook_Cover_image

2 thoughts on “Roasted Carrot Salad with Bulgar, Feta and Peas

  1. Your post gave me such a chuckle…I felt like I was tagging along with you as you tried to escape the gym unnoticed. Isn’t it wonderful that somethings we have forever…last forever. I’m sure your roasted salad was quite good. 😀

Leave a Reply

