Win Yotam Ottolenghi’s latest cookbook ‘Plenty More’

plenty more

I was hoping to have a new recipe post up sooner, but the last few weeks have been hectic, and to make matters worse, I injured my foot last week and have spent the last few days hobbling very inelegantly around on crutches. So instead, I have something even better: a competition.

I’ve been given a copy of Yotam Ottolenghi’s wonderful new cookbook, Plenty More to give away. As you can probably tell from the blog, I’m a big Ottolenghi fan. I visited London recently and spent quite a lot of time flicking through the new book in Foyles and I’m looking forward to cooking from it once I’m back on my feet. The recipes are as innovative and exciting as always, and it’s the kind of book you will come back to again and again. It’s a vegetable cookbook following on from his earlier book Plenty. 

To win this prize, you just have to leave a comment below telling me your favourite Ottolenghi recipe. There is no restriction on where the book can be sent. The winner will be announced here, on Facebook, and Twitter on Saturday. To whet your appetite, I’ve got a video of Yotam making his tomato and pomegranate salad below, but you can find more videos here.

 

14 thoughts on “Win Yotam Ottolenghi’s latest cookbook ‘Plenty More’

  1. Oh what an exciting giveaway! (p.s. I hope your foot feels better soon.) My fav Ottolenghi recipe Bittersweet Salad. It’s a mix of all things purple and red, perfect for autumn/winter. The salad features blood oranges, radicchio and pomegranate seeds mixed with ricotta and pine nuts.

  2. Heal the foot. So sorry to hear of your problems.

    My favorite recipe is: Squash With Chili Yogurt and Cilantro Sauce

    It is Autumn in New England and we just spent two glorious weeks traveling the back roads to enjoy the beautiful colors. The road side stands and Farmer’s Markets are filled with beautiful pumpkins, apples and squash. The Butternut has always been my favorite squash, although I do love them all.

    We rented a cabin in the Adirondack Forest and hauled our loads of squash into the house and prepared all sorts of squash delights. This recipe would have been perfect! The lovely roasted sweet, woodsy flavors of the squash topped with lovely spicy yogurt sauce topped with the Cilantro-Garlic Paste and Pumpkin Seeds make this the PERFECT Autumn Delight!

    Feel better soon!!

  3. Mine is from ‘Jerusalem’: Chicken with Caramelized Onion and Cardamom Rice. It’s the ultimate comfort food, suited either for an everyday family meal or for when you have a few friends around. It’s easy to cook and the ingredients are pretty accessible (except for the barberries, for which I substitute cranberries).

  4. So sorry to hear of your injury. Hobbling about on crutches is the worst! At least it’s not yet Winter. Ice and crutches do not play well together. Though I’ve made a number of his dishes, I love an older recipe that uses chicken, za’atar, sumac, and preserved lemons. The flavors are not what I am accustomed to and are a real treat. Beyond that, I don’t know what I’d do without a large jar of his preserved lemons in my kitchen. I love ’em and use them frequently.

  5. Sorry about your foot, Jess! I hope you’re of the crutches before too long! My favourite Ottolenghi recipe is actually from Plenty – it’s his brucnh dish, Shakshuka. Eggs poached in a spicy sauce with sliced peppers, what is not to love? I make it all the time (mainly to nurse a sore head on a Sunday morning…ahem) and I tend to have it over a warm tortilla with yoghurt and tahini, or with warm pitta breads and some fruit on the side. Shakshuka and coffee makes me happy.

  6. Hi Jess, I hope your foot is doing better.. My favorite Ottolenghi recipe is the mejadra. This is among the most satisfying vegetarian dishes I have ever eaten. Crispy onions rice and lentils.

  7. What a fab prize!

    As a Coelic with a significant other who is a strict vegetarian, the thought of finding somewhere suitable for us both to eat out usually just feels like it would be far too much hard work. As a result, we spend a lot of time idly trawling the internet for interesting veggie recipes and inspiration..and then invariably end up eating (GF) pizza and chips.

    Ottolenghi’s recipes are the only ones that have actually made it into our regular repertoire. He manages to make vegetarian dishes look satisfying and appealing – not just another grey vegan slab of dubious origin or a “filo mess” as himself puts it.

    The Black Pepper Tofu recipe is my favourite, with a little tweaking to make it gluten free. Honestly though, I think I get all the satisfaction I need from looking at the pictures…

  8. I’m torn between the Sweet and Spicy Beef and Pork Pie from his first book, or the Cardamom Poached Pears from “Jerusalem”. Both are so wonderful.
    P.S. I hope your foot heals up soon!

  9. My favourite ottolenghi recipe is the garlic tart! gorgeous meal. But my favourite sweet recipe is by far his chocolate and raspberry tartlets…I could live off them.

  10. Oh you poor thing, hope you’re getting better soon. I love lots of Ottolenghi recipes, and make his vegetarian paella on a regular basis – it’s the best vegetarian version I’ve ever tasted and as with most of his recipes, it packs a real flavour punch

  11. Picking just one favourite Ottolenghi recipe is really hard. After narrowing the list down to just few (grilled red mullet with lemon and celery salad, shawarma, gondi, shakshouka, quinoa salad with dried persian lime, etc.), I think I am going to go with Mejadra. Rice+lentils+fried onions+spices? Anytime.

Leave a Reply

