Jamie Oliver’s Fantastic Glazed Chorizo

This is a rich, easy to make tapas dish from Jamie Oliver’s website. The sweet glaze and the salty smokey chorizo go perfectly together. Its the typical tapas dish, as in its rich, flavourful, and you definitely could not eat too much of it. The recipe is slightly adapted as I did not have red wine vinegar, and so used a mix of white wine and balsamic.I also used chestnut honey for an added kick.This is an attempt to recreate a dish I had and loved in a bar in El Born in Barcelona last year, and its pretty damn close. This serves 4 as a tapas dish or something to nibble on with a glass of wine.

Ingredients

  • 250g chorizo sausage
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon chestnut honey
  • 3 tablespoons wine vinegar (I used white)
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • Olive oil

Method

  • Chop the chorizo into 2cm rounds, peeling off any coating skin (chorizo usually comes in with a plasticy type skin that you are not meant to eat. Learnt that one the hard way courtesy of Dutch labelling).
  • Saute in olive oil until crisp and golden on both sides.
  • Add two crushed garlic cloves, stir, and cook for 1-2 minutes.
  • Drain off all but 1 tablespoon of the cooking oil.
  • Add the honey and vinegar and stir until combined.
  • Cook until the liquid has reduced to a nice syrupy consistency and serve immediately.

Facebook_Cover_image


4 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver’s Fantastic Glazed Chorizo

  1. I spotted this recipe a while back and kept it in mind. Tonight I tried it and my husband and I both really enjoyed it. I used red wine and balsamic vinegars with just regular honey. It was really easy to do and very tasty. I liked the garlic too. Maybe next time I’ll add more. Thanks for posting.

  2. Pingback: Beer, Food and Cigarettes in Spain | Barnaby Davies

Leave a comment